Search

On the Shelves: September



Book Tips from the Peregrine Book Co. Staff



The Way of Natural History ed. by Thomas Lowe Fleischner A window into one of the most important and least talked-about scientific fields, this book is an antidote for environmental despair. It reminds us that the natural world is wondrous and ever-present. — Ty



Fragnemt by Ctrlcreep Weird little vignettes ranging in length from a sentence to a paragraph. Highly digestible, think of it as doorways to unimagined worlds. — David




The Ramayana: A New Retelling of Valmiki's Ancient Epic by Linda Egenes and Kumuda Reddy I was surprised how touched I was by The Ramayana, and that I would come to consider it my favorite spiritual text. On more than one occasion I was moved to tears by Rama's and Sita's commitment to the dharma and their unfailing goodness. This particular version is written in a very clear and simple prose, helping turn ancient mythology into a heart-wrenching page-turner. — Maria



Critical Role Vox Machina: Origins Volume 1 by Critical Role, Matthew Mercer and Matthew Colville; illus. by Olivia Samson and Chris Northrop Fans of D'n'D, Fantasy and/or graphic novels, this is the book for you! Matt Mercer's long-awaited graphic-novel retelling of his hugely popular YouTube series is finally here, and let me tell you it is epic! — Sienna



The Rook: A Novel by Daniel O'Malley Our Protagonist wakes with no memory and two envelopes detailing two paths she can take. She must navigate her job (a paranormal M15) without giving away how clueless she is. A witty, complex and downright hilarious urban fantasy. — Susannah


The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Malcolm X with Alex Haley The most uncompromising, honest and spiritual autobiography you'll ever read. — Josef

Prescott's Premiere
Arts, science & culture magazine

Publisher:  John Duncan

Editor: Steven Ayres

Associate Editor: Abby Brill

Online Editor: Lesley McKeown

Webtech and Graphics: Sylvia Wauters

Contact us: 5ensesMag@gmail.com

928-421-1123

All Content © 4am Productions